Olli-Pekka Tuomisalo (b. 1970) is a classical saxophonist. He began his musical studies at the age of 10 and since 1993 studied under Pekka Savijoki at the Sibelius Academy, graduating in 1999. In 2009 he received his doctor of music degree from the Sibelius Academy as the first saxophonist ever.

Tuomisalo is a very active performer, giving recitals and appearing as a soloist with various orchestras. His concerto performances (over 100) have included works by composers such as Perttu Haapanen, Sebastian Fagerlund, Claude Debussy, Kalevi Aho, Pehr Henrik Nordgren, Mika Kuuskankare, Alexander Wittenberg, Timo Katila, Uuno Klami, Yrjö Gunaropulos, George de Godzinsky, Harry Bergström, Markus Fagerudd, Alexander Glazunov, Frank Martin, Henry Cowell, Franz Waxman and Paul Creston. Tuomisalo has so far released eight CD´s in his series of “Complete Finnish Saxophone Music”. Included are 23 works for saxophone and orchestra.

Tuomisalo leads the Academic Saxophone Quartet and performs regularly with pianist Risto-Matti Marin. As the leading voice of the Finnish classical saxophone, he has encouraged a rising number of composers to create a whole new repertoire for him; Paavo Heininen, Tapani Länsiö, Kimmo Kuitunen, Robert Kritz, Perttu Haapanen, Mika Kuuskankare, Christian Holmqvist, Sebastian Fagerlund, Pauliina Isomäki, Tim Page, Pasi Lyytikäinen, Asko Hyvärinen, Tapani Saarinen, Max Savikangas, Jan Mikael Vainio, Juho Miettinen, Tomi Räisänen etc. He has performed under the baton of Esa-Pekka Salonen, Leif Segerstam, Jukka-Pekka Saraste, Vytautas Lukocius, John Storgårds, Osmo Vänskä and dozens of others.

Tuomisalo´s recording of the Sebastian Fagerlund Saxophone Concerto was acclaimed highlight of the year in many Finnish newspapers. He is also the featured artist in the Saxophone Journal May/June 2007 and Finnish Music Quarterly 1/2008 Magazines. Some highlights have been performances of Kalevi Aho’s Saxophone Concerto in Russia, Sebastian Fagerlund’s Saxophone Concerto in China and Tuomisalo´s U.S. tours in 2002, 2004, 2009, 2013 and 2015.